10 Real Life Stories About Failure

Atanas Shorgov
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
5 min readApr 8, 2022

Everyone has an embarrassing situation or failure which makes them blush every time they recall it. Some of them we try to forget, others we can tell to our close ones and laugh at them together.

Check out these 10 brave souls who shared their most shameful moments.

#1

I remember once jumping with a parachute and the instructor joked, “If the parachute doesn’t open during the flight, don’t panic, just enjoy the flight, because it will be the last one.

We jumped with him, we fly. It was time to open the parachute, I pulled it and nothing happened. I immediately think of his joke, but it’s no longer a joke, and I tell him, “That’s it, I’m enjoying the flight…”. And he yells at me, “Don’t be stupid, pull the spare!” Anyway, he doesn’t tell that joke to people anymore in case there will be another silly guy like me…

©Palata №6/VK

Photo: Maxim Shklyaev/Unsplash

#2

Once I was supposed to fly to another country but at the airport, I suddenly felt sick and fainted. I’ve got help at the nurses’ station. They gave me some pills and I flew out safely, but immediately fell asleep as soon as I sat in my seat.

It turned out that I had been asleep for five hours during the flight and woke up to the sound of my loud fart. People sitting next to me started to call the stewardess and asked to wake me up because “They were sick of farting and snoring the whole way”. I could have sunk through the floor, so I pretended to be asleep until we landed.

©Podslushano/VK

#3

Over the winter, I gained some weight, and my favorite spring jacket became quite tight for me. I asked my husband: “Do I look really bad?” In response, my darling smiled and said that I’m his Michelin talisman.

At first, I was touched, and then in a car shop, I saw what this Michelin is. Let him prepare the dinner now.

©Podslushano/VK

#4

I had a situation during my student years: I was in a small bus with people standing next to me. I had to get off at the bus stop and wanted to grab the handrail handle.

And, unbelievable, I grabbed the guy’s nose! I don’t know why I thought there was a handle! You should have seen the look on his face. I was totally shocked and lost the power of speech, even “sorry” could not come out.

© maria.pakhomova / Instagram

#5

I never laugh at stories where scammers scam people with stupid schemes because I once fell for that by myself and sent a scammer a hundred dollars.

The story is not about that, but about the fact that my boyfriend, when he found out, laughed at me and decided to give me some kind of an online course. This course, for which he paid $500, was supposed to outline all known fraud schemes, ways to counteract, defense mechanisms, and all that. Anyway, he sent money to a website and they just blocked him.

©Palata №6/VK

Photo: Sergey Zolkin/Unsplash

#6

My genius husband, always sober-minded (as I thought he was), when he prepared dough for pancakes, decided to try it. He put the mixer in his mouth and automatically pressed the button. Still alive.

©Podslushano/VK

#7

I wanted to show off to my boyfriend and cook something delicious. I made a salad, marinated chicken with mustard and honey, and put them together with potatoes in the oven to bake. In addition, I bought a beautiful cake.

The result: the mayonnaise which I used to dress the salad was spoiled (yes, I know, that I should have checked it), I forgot to turn on the oven, so the meat with potatoes was still raw. Finally, my boyfriend was allergic to peanuts which were in the cake cream.

What a lovely dinner.

©Palata №6/VK

#8

Vancouver, Canada. On a popular city beach. I’m standing in line for the ladies’ room. I notice a man standing next to me in line. I thought he was just inattentive and told him: “Man, you’ve mixed it up, this is the line for the ladies’ room. And he answers me: “No, it’s you mixed up, I am a woman.”

©Ideer/76754

#9

On my first working day at a coffee shop, I was very nervous. At 7 am, the first guest comes in and orders a cappuccino. I let a little steam out of the steamer (the thing in the coffee machine to whip the foam). I turned the knob too hard, and instead of steam, a jet of water came out… right in the guest’s face.

Fortunately, he was standing far enough, and the water had time to cool down while it was flying. It was terribly embarrassing! I apologized a hundred times! I started frantically handing him napkins, but he didn’t wait for his coffee, turned around, and left, saying, “Thank you. You cheered me up better than any coffee in the morning.

©Palata №6/VK

Photo: Metin Ozer/Unsplash

#10

My husband has an intern, whose frequent calls and messages irritate even me (everyone works from home): he always has an urgent question here and there. Called once during a conference. My husband sent him a short message: “Can you not bother me with stupid questions for at least a couple of days? Think with your head, you didn’t get this job for nothing.”

Some hours later his boss sent him a message — asking if everything is okay, and a little higher… that message for the intern. My husband just mixed up the chats.

©Podslushano/VK

Did you have a similar moment in your life? What’s your favorite failure or the most embarrassing moment in your life?

--

--