3 Life Lessons Learned From Freeing Myself From the Prison of My Mind

Three ways we create our own suffering in life and how to stop

Angela Choi
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
4 min readJan 14, 2023

--

Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

“I still feel like a prisoner of my own mind.”

This sentence is from a journal entry earlier this month. For context, I have an incredible amount of freedom in my life. As a digital nomad, I travel where I want, when I want and as a solopreneur, I schedule my days as I please. However, even with all this (physical) freedom in my life, at times, I still feel like a prisoner, trapped in my own mind.

The common thread between all the times I’ve felt trapped in my own mind?

My refusal to accept what is, right here, right now.

It may have been a situation where I couldn’t accept myself, as I was. It may have been a situation where I found it difficult to accept the actions of another individual. Regardless of the situation, the fact is you can never win when you fight reality.

In recognizing that I’ve been the one imprisoning myself, I’ve reflected on ways I can set myself free by accepting reality, which includes acceptance of circumstances, myself and others. Here are the 3 lessons I’ve gathered:

1) Everything in life, including your thoughts and emotions, is impermanent

--

--