35 Best Quotes From Steven Wright…From Ask Lewis

The old, new king of comedy

Lewiscoaches
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
6 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Comedy — Photo by Girl with red hat on Unsplash

My favorite approach to stand-up comedy is the award-winning American comedian, writer, actor, and film producer Steven Alexander Wright. Known for his distinctive slow lethargic voice and deadpan delivery Wright was listed as the 15th Greatest Comedian by Rolling Stone in its 2017 list of the 50 Greatest Stand-up Comics.

Wright has become so popular that many Zen-like, existential, absurdist lists of jokes attributed to Wright circulate on the Internet. Many are not by him at all.

On this, Wright has said, “Someone showed me a site, and half of it that said I wrote it, I didn’t write. Recently, I saw one, and I didn’t write any of it. What’s disturbing is that with a few of these jokes, I wish I had thought of them. A giant amount of them, I’m embarrassed that people think I thought of them because some are really bad.”

What Makes Comedy

According to the British comic actor, Rowen Atkinson, who made a short film with Wright, an object or a person can become funny in three ways

1. Behaving in an unusual way;

--

--

Lewiscoaches
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Book author: Self-Improvement, design, life lesson, AI, travel, health, life, business, politics, love, lifestyle, mental health, entrepreneurism - askLewis.com