HEALTH AND SPIRITUALITY

6 Stress-Relief Hacks When You Aren’t Feeling Grateful

The mind-body connection is all. We’re meant to use it.

Desiree Driesenaar
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
8 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Picture: Desha via Pixabay

When I was a kid, I wasn’t an especially happy kid. I felt an overwhelming sense of sadness. Of worry. I was cautious. I worried if other kids liked me. I was living in my head and was mighty glad when I was able to read at three. I could inhabit my head even more and find relief in my fantasy and my books.

Current times are a bit like that. But I know by now that fantasy and books aren’t the cure I need. I need to find different ways. And, thinking back to my childhood, I see what can be done.

This is a story about simple stress-relief hacks. And about gratitude practice. But it also gives you tools if you think you have nothing to be grateful for. Your mind-body connection is an immensely powerful tool for you. Please use it to be calm and healthy. Stress and fear are not what we need right now.

Happy Moments

About my childhood feelings, I don’t know if I was really that unhappy or if it just feels like that in hindsight. But I do know that my mum tried to teach me gratitude through remembering happy moments. It had no special spiritual meaning for her or anything, she just thought it…

--

--