Are You Living Your Life on Autopilot?

Questions to ask yourself and ways to get back in the driver's seat.

Allison Ditmer
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Many people moving through life walking around on autopilot instead of being more present and in tune with their passion in life.
Photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash

Do you catch yourself going through the motions every day?

In a study conducted by Harvard University psychologists, people spend 46.9% thinking about other things besides what they are actually doing. This day-dreaming is not making them happier either.

I catch myself on autopilot mode doing a lot of the same, mandatory things in life. Like laundry, washing the dishes, and even sometimes cooking the same meals over and over. If it’s been done many times before, chances are I’m not fully living in the moment. I’m only partly paying attention.

Here are some questions to ask yourself and potential ways to get get back in the driver’s seat if living on autopilot is what you’re experiencing too.

How would you rate your mood these days?

My mind goes to my meditation app with this question. Before I start meditating, I’m prompted to answer how I’m feeling.

Do I feel great, good, okay, bad, or awful?

How would you respond if someone asked you this?

Your mood has a huge influence on how you approach the day. If you’re only feeling okay, chances…

--

--

Allison Ditmer
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Writer, Freelancer, & Organic Traffic Advocate / I like to write about my freelance life and work-life blend. Contact me: allison@allisonditmer.com