Becoming Your Best Self.

Phy
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
3 min readJun 26, 2020
Photo by Jessica Joseph on Unsplash

I felt very inspired after watching Michelle Obama’s becoming, it was so unreal the feeling I had afterwards. It’s like my life flashed right in front of me and I realized where I was at in this journey of mine.

In this documentary, Michelle shares her journey, the good and bad. She shares her experiences as the first African-American First Lady of the United States, her childhood, how she met Barack and her college life too amongst others. I loved how she kept encouraging the younger generation to keep going, to keep pushing through the obstacles and not give up on themselves but keep aiming for the sun.

“To Keep pushing through the obstacles and not give up on themselves”

This is surely a tough year for most of us if not all, but yet deep down we still have hope that we shall get through it and come out even stronger.

Quarantine time had me idle (I’m sure I’m not the only one), cleaning the walls and complaining at first, but later on had me thinking a lot about who I was, who I am now and who I aspire to be. It’s like all this time I’ve spent by myself got me truly realizing my worth and had me very appreciative of the life that I live. I know most of us can agree that life before and life after quarantine doesn’t feel the same at all.

So here’s a few takes from the Becoming documentary that stuck with me…

Life is not going to be all roses and sunflowers, it will rain on some days and no matter where we are at, we need to remember that it’s not a horrible life, it’s just a horrible day. I remember working at ShopRite a few years back, promoting water bottles for this random water company I had never heard of, and truth be told that job was horrible for me. I had to say goodbye to it even though I really relied on the income it brought. I realized, that sometimes the toughest decisions we make, end up shaping us into new versions of ourselves, but only if we let it. In my situation, I had to choose my mental health and looking back, it actually was a superb decision that at that time seemed like a miserable thing to do.

Not only does life change drastically but Life is a journey and there’s no need hating on where you are at now. Our actions in the now, actually have a lot of impact in the life and experiences that’s ahead of us. We need to keep striving, do what we can and be mentally prepared for whatever life throws at us. Be it job wise, be it school. The only way is to “do whatever you need to do and let your job and your life speak for itself.”

Gratitude is also important to practice, sometimes we forget how we have all the things we once prayed and fasted for. Life actually moves by pretty fast if you sit still and think about it, I mean there’s a whole new generation awaiting and we are trying to make it safe and better for them, so keep striving for the good .You are doing pretty okay thus far, for you have survived 100% of all your obstacles if you are reading this. So keep pushing, keep doing what makes you happy and keep inspiring the young generation so that they don’t have it as hard as your generation did and keep smiling, it’s quite contagious.

I know I am becoming an embracer of the world and I'm learning to accept life as it comes. What about You?

--

--