Breaking Out of Society — How to Choose a Career and Follow Your Passion

Laura Blu Sandía
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
4 min readFeb 4, 2021

--

The feeling started when I was really young.

I felt like something was missing. Like there was more to life than what everyone wanted to make me believe. Do not get me wrong I had a beautiful childhood and everything a child needs, but that was exactly the problem. I felt a void in that perfection. It made me question this perfectly pre-shaped future, it made me question all the answers they had, it made me question the whole system.

“What you know you can’t explain, but you feel it. You’ve felt it your entire life, that there’s something wrong with the world. You don’t know what it is, but it’s there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad.”

Morpheus, the Matrix

I was stuck in the system

Nevertheless, before I could really break out of the system I was stuck in it for quite a while. I was an outstanding student at school, and when it came to choosing a career path, I had no idea what I wanted to do. And I feel that happens to so many young people because we are not given the proper time and attention to actually find our passion in life. Mostly because there are certain career paths which are considered more successful than others. Creative careers like art, theatre or dance is mostly looked at…

--

--