Challenging 3 Myths About Introverts and Leadership

What I learned in 2 years of leadership

Karina
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Jurica Koletić on Unsplash

Quiet people are still underestimated, and loud ones are getting preferred for promotions and, in general, as employees.

People tend to forget us, or it’s uncomfortable for them to speak with us quiet ones because they cannot comprehend us.

So there are some myths going around because people don’t get us. But what I learned as an introvert doing “extroverted” positions: I’m actually not bad at them.

But it was a long way for me to get to the point where I actually tried being a leader. I thought I would never be successful or lead because in school I always heard “speak more”, “speak louder”, “I’m giving you a grade less because you don’t speak”….

My skills were not appreciated, and everyone wanted me to be different. So I had the mindset that only extroverts can strive in this world.

But then, as the leader of a student organization for 2 years, I had to get out of my comfort zone and into the light of the extroverted world. It wasn’t easy, but I learned some important lessons, and I want to bust some myths about introversion for you:

Myth #1: Introverts are too quiet to lead

--

--

Karina
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Introvert. Writing about my strategies from lessons learned about self-growth and productivity. Get my guide: karina-ahrer.com/boost-your-productivity/