Don’t Try to Change Yourself

Instead, only try to realize the truth. “There is no spoon”.

Nihan Kucukural
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Bent Spoon, Image generated on Freepik by author

Why didn’t I see this before?

I’ve experienced a few breakthroughs and major transformations in my life, and they all happened very quickly, like turning switches on and off. I didn’t have to go through weeks of hard work until my habits stuck.

They all felt similar, yet I didn’t grasp the pattern for a long time. Changing isn’t difficult once you are aware of the illusions!

My fears were unconscious decisions

One significant breakthrough was getting rid of my life-long fear of cats in my late 20s. When a friend challenged me, I decided to take a deep breath and allow his cat to scratch my arms.

The fear disappeared in an instant. I didn’t know how it happened and thought about that moment a lot for years.

My other big fear was driving. It was part of my identity all my life. But in New Zealand suburbs, I found that I couldn’t function as an adult if I resisted driving.

It was a major struggle. And one day, as I had an internal battle whether to drive or not, I had another breakthrough. There was a voice in my mind that actively sabotaged my attempts to drive. I was in a trap that I had created…

--

--

Nihan Kucukural
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Turkish copywriter and screenwriter based in New Zealand. I am addicted to stories. I write screenwriting/copywriting advice and occasional funny stuff.