Eckhart Tolle’s Critical Take on Ego, and Finding Peace

--

Photograph by Yuting Gao on Pexels

Recently I’ve been reading Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth, a reintroduction to Tolle’s work having read The Power of Now years ago. I first read his work when I was going through my worst bout of anxiety and OCD, so it’s been a refreshing reminder of some of the concepts that helped me heal.

A central theme to his work is his take on the “Ego” and his recommendation to de-identify with our mental stories in order to find peace and happiness.

Immersed in these concepts once I again I wanted to start a series of articles in relation to Eckhart’s take on the Ego and how we can begin to let go of our suffering through de-identification.

In this part of the series we’ll discuss how Eckhart Tolle defines the Ego, and the reprecussions of over-identification, and what our alternative path to healing is. To be reminded of future updates, be sure to subscribe to the channel and enjoy!

The Ego: A Self-Made Story, For Better or Worse

In Tolle’s words, the Ego is a “sense of self that arises when the mind is completely unobserved”. It’s an automatic, programmed brain function through which we sustain a sense of self by deriving meaning and value from the world around us. One way the Ego exerts its impact is in the moment-to moment…

--

--

Joe Gibson, Above The Middle
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Your path to authentic love and secure relationships starts here. Above The Middle, a blog by me, Joe Gibson.