Getting Over A Breakup? Avoid This Mistake

--

Photograph by Alexandro David on Pexels

Breakups for me have been notoriously difficult to get over. So much so that I’d fear getting into relationships in the first place, save sacrificing my hard-earned peace in favour of a relationship that could end, requiring me to build myself up again.

I’d rather not bother in the first place than take the risk, thank you.

Or rather this is how I used to think. Quite an avoidant thought and belief to have, in reflection. Whilst avoiding romantic partnerships may be what we need in the short-term to build our independence and self-acceptance/self-love, avoiding them for the sake of the hard feelings they may bring isn’t going to help us. In fact, we’ll probably find ourselves quite lonely and isolated in the process.

But I digress, I mentioned in a previous article that I wanted my current experience going through a breakup to be different. I didn’t want to make the same mistake that I did last time. It cost me months of my mental health and kept me tied to my past relationship(s) for way longer than I ever needed to be: for example, the year it took me to get over a 4 month situationship…

With the above in mind, what would I recommend NOT doing when processing and moving through a breakup? This is as much of a reminder for me as it may be for you!

Error: Do Not Tie…

--

--

Joe Gibson, Above The Middle
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Your path to authentic love and secure relationships starts here. Above The Middle, a blog by me, Joe Gibson.