How I Made My Mind and Will Work Together

My Journey to Overcome Internal Battles

Søcrä Tës
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
3 min readAug 18, 2024

--

(Image created by DALL-E)

There’s a fire inside me, a burning desire to get things done. Whether it’s working out, writing, or learning something new, I often find myself fired up, ready to take on the world. But then, there's another part of me that whispers, “Maybe tomorrow. Just leave it for now.”

It’s frustrating, isn’t it? To have that eagerness, yet feel held back by something inside you?

I’ve been there so many times. I’ll wake up in the morning with every intention to hit my push-ups or do some sit-ups—like I’ve been doing for the past four months.

For the most part, it’s been a daily routine, something that makes me feel accomplished. But recently, there have been days when I just lie there, thinking, “I’ll do it later.” But later never comes.

This internal conflict isn’t just about skipping a workout. It’s about wanting something so badly yet feeling powerless to make it happen. It’s like my mind is on fire, ready to push forward, but my will isn’t cooperating. It’s as if I’m caught in a tug-of-war between two parts of myself. One part is eager, passionate, and driven; the other is hesitant, lazy, and unwilling to move.

I’ve tried to understand what’s really going on. Why do I feel so driven at one moment and then so lazy the next? Why is it so hard to get my mind and will to work together?

(Image created by DALL-E)

That’s what I’ve realized. It’s easy to want something, to imagine how great it would feel to achieve a goal. But wanting isn’t enough. It takes action—consistent, determined action. And that’s where the struggle lies.

But here’s the thing:

I’m learning that it’s okay to struggle. It’s okay to feel that internal battle. What matters is how I choose to respond to it. When I feel that conflict rising, I remind myself of why I started in the first place. I think about the satisfaction I feel after a workout, the pride I have in sticking to my routine, the joy of progress.

And I’ve found that it helps to take small steps. On days when I don’t feel like doing my full workout, I tell myself, “Just do a few push-ups.” Usually, once I start, I find the motivation to keep going. It’s about creating momentum, no matter how small.

(Image created by DALL-E)

I’m not perfect, and I don’t have it all figured out. There are still days when I don’t win the battle between my mind and will. But I’ve learned that it’s a process. It’s about showing up every day, even when it’s hard. It’s about forgiving myself when I stumble and celebrating when I succeed.

I know many people face this same struggle. Whether it’s with working out, learning a new skill, or just sticking to a routine, the battle is real. But we’re not alone. We all have that fire inside us, and with patience and persistence, we can learn to harness it.

(Image created by DALL-E)

So, if you’re in that place where your mind and will seem to be at odds, know that it’s okay. You’re not failing—you’re growing. Keep pushing forward, even if it’s just a little at a time. And remember, every small step you take is a step towards winning the battle within.

--

--

Søcrä Tës
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I love to share what I experience everyday in the light of my philosophical studies.