How I Turned Anxiety into a Superpower

What’s a “flaw” you learned to love?

--

Someone asked me about a “flaw” in myself I learned to love. It really got me thinking. The question had such an impact, I even asked other writers here at Change Your Mind-Change Your Life to share their stories. Here’s mine.

Anxiety wasn’t always my superpower.

Far from it.

I remember first feeling that sick-in-the-gut wave of anxiety when I was only about 5 years old. I didn’t know what it was. I thought I was going to throw up, but I didn’t.

Playing with dolls, sitting on the couch, out with friends. It really didn’t matter where I was or what I was doing, that wave could come out of nowhere and shoot through my body with no warning.

Early on, it didn’t bother me or stop me from doing anything. Then one day I became aware of the thought, “What if it happens when…??”

In that moment, I gave it power.

--

--

Dr. Christine Bradstreet
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Editor of Change Your Mind Change Your Life and Success On The Spectrum. I wrote a book to help you be happy. Get yours at www.happyeverafter.info