MINDFULNESS

How to Be More Generous With and Without Money. Because It Matters.

5 ways to show someone you care

Allison Ditmer
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
4 min readNov 21, 2022

--

Photo by Sebastián León Prado on Unsplash

There’s nothing like the holidays and feeling that gentle nudge to be generous.

These days I’m seeing more mail asking me to donate to various local charities.

Everyone seems to be in need and asking for help.

Feeling like you don’t have money to spare shouldn’t be an excuse not to be generous. (I don’t want it to be my excuse either.)

Here are 5 ways with and without money you can be generous with other people.

Because it matters.

Listen to a stranger’s story

You feel cared about when you feel heard.

It’s no different for the next person.

I find myself being the magnet sometimes for strangers’ stories. It happened yesterday standing in line at the grocery. An older woman told me about her holiday plans to visit her son out of state.

She just wanted me to listen.

Instead of being rushed to get through the line or onto the next to-do, make eye contact.

--

--

Allison Ditmer
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Writer, Freelancer, & Organic Traffic Advocate / I like to write about my freelance life and work-life blend. Contact me: allison@allisonditmer.com