How to Feel Better

Try using Nathan’s formula

Leslie Pardew
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Nathan Glad Photo supplied by his mother Rachel Glad.

One day I was feeling a bit down and worried. The pandemic had shut down my business and we had no idea when we would be able to reopen. I was facing a lot of financial pressure. Like many at the time, I felt isolated from friends and family. That day I was scheduled to run an online escape room. I wasn’t sure I was up to it. Seeing that it was the only source of income for my company, I felt I needed to do my best.

When I logged into the video conference to see who would be doing the room my heart sank. There were two people, a man, and a woman, waiting online for the rest of the group to arrive. They were both obviously in their 80s. The woman was on oxygen and so bent over that I could just see her head above the keyboard. The man was in better shape and was trying to help his wife get her computer working. My first thought was, “Older people usually have a hard time with technology, how am I going to help them?”

The next group to join was a young family with three children ages 6 to 11. The children were running around, and the parents were trying to get them to settled down on their own computers, so we could start the event. It was somewhat chaotic. I admit that my initial attitude was not the best, but I started talking to them. I usually like to get to know the group before we started the online adventure…

--

--

Leslie Pardew
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I am an artist, designer, author, and entrepreneur who has a few things to share about life, art and business.