How to Ride the Waves of Your Mind (Without Getting Drowned)

Catch your thoughts before they catch you

J.R. Flaherty
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Guy Kawasaki on Unsplash

Have you ever stopped during a busy day to take a breath? Then, suddenly, you find a wave of peace coming over you. It is as though, for a brief moment in time, the world seems to stand still, and you come alive acutely. That, my friend, is a feeling of mindfulness.

Jon Kabat-Zinn said, “You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn how to surf.”

That is how I felt the first time I truly, truly understood the meaning of the quote: at a point in my life when it seemed that the waves of overthinking and anxiety would never stop, and I was barely keeping my head above water.

Mindfulness does not stop the chaos around us. It simply means seeing the storm on the horizon rather than in it.

“You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn to surf.”

What is mindfulness?

Mindfulness. It’s a concept often surrounded by complex explanations. But the essence is actually really simple: mindfulness is just the act of being fully present in the moment and accepting whatever is happening right then.

--

--