How to Stop Your Ego From Ruining Life

All the ways you can train your ego to diminish and allow your journey of life to happen in the now…

Trevor Huffman
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
12 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Photo by mariel reiser on Unsplash

Is it possible you haven’t learned the art of watching, stopping, or witnessing the ego at work around you?

And what is it about the ego that invisibly works to hold our society (or you) back from a happy, joyful, present, and centered life?

Truthfully, I wish my anxiety would leave me alone. There are mornings (and moments) when I feel the grip of my ego trying to wiggle its way into every facet of my human experience. It gauges. It whispers. It desires and constantly measures. It labels every thing. It attaches to what it wants and expects things from what it doesn’t.

It relishes in past memories and frets about future opportunities. It inevitably tilts toward wanting more pleasure, less pain, and wanders me into whatever it pleases. If I try to stop, escape, or ignore it, it mutates, and asks me a different question in a different voice.

I’ve given my ego a caricature name of Billy, my half-wolf-half-alligator brain floating down a river of human consciousness hidden in a lily pad sheep skin.

As soon I wake up, Billy puts me in an alligator roll, spinning and chewing and suffocating…

--

--

Trevor Huffman
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Hi. I'm Trevor. I write about egoless living relative to sports, business, leadership, and fitness. Subscribe today.