I Asked a 56-Year-Old What a ‘Happy Retirement’ Really Means. She Made Me Think.

You need those in front of you to show [real-life] possibilities

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

A lady smiling at the camera.
Pursuing a life worth pursuing. Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

Diane is my cousin’s friend.

She was a senior accountant for years, busy with group consolidation and press releases. Diane walked away from that 5 years ago. Today, she is happy doing her own thing.

  • As a full-time retiree.
  • As a skincare sales account manager.

Of course, many people I know will be comfortable when I say this. How can she be fully retired with a job? Fair enough. I get that.

But times have changed.

Our mindset for retirement ought to evolve.

She is light-hearted, happy, and above all, young.

Diane is 56?

I don’t believe it.

Yes, I don’t. The person seated right before me looks fresh, speaks fast, and engages in conversation. She isn’t eager to push for product introduction and sales.

She is curious, genuinely curious, about what I do.

The same applies to me.

--

--

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.