I Stole Microsoft’s Productivity Equation and Now I Get So Much More Done

It’s simple, but genius.

Eliza Bachard
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Woman Using Ipad Brainstorming with Her Colleagues
Photo by ANTONI SHKRABA from Pexels

Nobody realizes it. Everyone thinks James Clear or Tim Ferris is the best expert on productivity. But the best place to look for productivity techniques that work is actually enormous corporations with tons of employees.

Google, Microsoft, Apple, Facebook, and their ilk have the resources, time, and sheer numbers of employees to test and try every productivity hack in the book, and you can bet your bottom dollar they know which ones work. Because…they have also bet their bottom dollar on it.

As someone who balances a complex job with a lot of different responsibilities and duties, I often struggle to move beyond just attending meetings and answering emails as they come in. When I needed to get something done but was worried I’d struggle to manage my time, I scoured an unusual source: Microsoft’s internal help documentation. And there I found the very simple yet very effective productivity equation that has changed my workflow for good. It’s tough to put a numerical value on productivity, but I can safely say I get more done than I did before.

Here’s Microsoft’s not-so-secret secret.

Find your “available to focus” time with this equation

--

--

Eliza Bachard
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Account manager by day, voracious reader by night. I play video games, too. Check out my book recommendations here: https://bookshop.org/shop/elizasreadingnook