I Went [Dead] Quiet When An Intern Asked Me for a Full-Time Role. It’s Baffling.

Why would she when she has nothing good to say about her boss?

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

A young lady happy at work.
I kid you not. Ling works happy. Photo by Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

Let me deliver a twist.

I am not my intern’s boss. She reports to someone else on my team.

This is the second twist.

She has zero respect for Isabelle, the Gen Z, and the youngest on my team. It surprised me. Being only 7 years apart, I thought they would connect better.

That’s why I tie her to Princess Isabelle.

Time for the final twist.

My intern wants to join our company and my team despite her [bad] impression of Isabelle.

Hmm.

The enthusiastic intern surprised me

We call her Ling.

Ling is attached to my team for software sales exposure for 3 months.

She opted for a university gap year [actually, 6 months] and invested her time with us.

Maybe we pay interns above market? Maybe.

But no matter.

Ling is approaching the tail-end of her tenure with us. I had to grade her internship and submit it to Ling’s university’s career office.

--

--

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.