If You Are Not Paying for the Product, You Are the Product!

What you can learn from the Netflix documentary “The Social Dilemma.”

Daniel Hövermann
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

In its newly released documentary “The Social Dilemma,” Netflix analyses the techniques, and the underlying strategies of social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, etc.

And I have to admit that immediately after watching this documentary, I deleted several apps from my cellphone and became more alert on my own “social media behavior.”

Isn’t it strange that there is such a thing as “social media behavior”? I was born in 1986 and got my first cellphone in 2001. A classy Nokia 3310 (a younger generation than the famous 3210 with all its heroic attributes) granted me access to the cooler side of the playground.

Some of the younger kids might not believe that, but this Nokia did not have any access to the internet. It had a two-color display, and the only way to “waste your time” was by playing snake (I inserted a link as I am not aware of how techy you are).

Everything changed in 2007 and the following, as Apple introduced the first iPhone. From 2009 on, you could see smartphones in almost any hand of younger and older people.

--

--

Daniel Hövermann
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

changing thoughts, behavior, and beliefs; a soul that finds the best way to be the biggest gift to you! Enjoy the ride!