If You’re Sick of Hearing About People’s Wellness Routines, You Might Not Want to Hear This

We are living in a time when it is almost fashionable to showcase your wellness routine and productivity tips.

Rebecca Andrews
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
3 min readJun 2, 2023

--

Photo by Lisa vhb

The inspiration for this article came from an Instagram reel of a person walking down the street in the early hours of the morning wearing activewear. The captions were something along the lines of “I was trying to avoid this as much as possible, but it turns out that waking up early, drinking green juice, writing in a silly little journal, and going to yoga class is going to make you feel amazing and set you up for a fantastic day”. It reminded me of one Saturday morning when my boyfriend dragged me out of bed to go for a walk before we had our coffee. Then, we ate our breakfast before we could have our beautiful weekend filter coffee. Outrageous! But, we both felt amazing and had so much energy for the rest of the weekend. It was great.

If it’s not broken, don’t fix it

If you have spent time reading up on or watching videos about people’s routines you will notice that a lot of the content is very similar. Which, I can imagine, can be frustrating for people who are not keen to adopt some of the practices. For example, I resisted gratitude journaling for the longest time because I wasn’t convinced that it would make me feel as good as people said it would. It wasn’t until I got a new planner that came with a gratitude section where I could fill out 3 things I am grateful for every day that I gave it a go. Lo and behold, after a week of writing down what I was grateful for every day, I seemed to be attracting positive emotions and energies that made me feel really good.

Despite our differences, we have a lot in common

Without getting too scientific, human beings rely on a lot of the same things to keep our minds and body’s going. This is why we’re seeing a lot of the same content when it comes to wellness and productivity. Drinking water is going to be good for us, reading a book is going to be good for us, a healthy level of exercise is going to be good for us, and so on and so on. Doing these things regularly is going to help our minds and bodies work to the best of their ability. This is not to say that I am not going to go home tonight and crack open a soda and eat some sugary treats, but it will be in moderation.

“Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t kill their husbands, they just don’t.” — Legally Blond

Why do people feel the need to create content around their wellness routines when it is all much the same? Well, take the above quote as a vague rationale (I just really love this quote). These routines are making people feel healthy and happy, and I know when I am healthy and happy I want other people to feel healthy and happy as well. So why not celebrate this and hopefully inspire other people? When I am stuck in a rut I seek out this type of content to motivate me and remind me of how I can help myself feel good. Health and happiness is a personal responsibility, but it is ok to get some help as well.

We are living in a time when it is almost fashionable to showcase your wellness routine and productivity tips. I need to note that comparing and adopting wellness routines must be done with consideration of what is healthy for the individual. It is also important to remember that you are not less of a person because you cannot replicate somebody else’s routine. But, there are a lot of frameworks that can be taken and adapted to suit anybody. The point of a wellness and productivity routine is not to make you a millionaire or start your own successful business (unless that is your intention). It is all about you and what your goals are in life, and if you don’t want to chase goals you still deserve to be healthy and happy.

--

--

Rebecca Andrews
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Operations professional working at a software company, living in Wellington, New Zealand.