Is It Ever Too Late to Go Back to School?

I have started, stopped, and started college several times over the years. Is it time to admit defeat and throw in the towel?

James Curneal
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
3 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Picture from Pixabay on Pexels.com

More than twenty years ago, I started a new job. I intended to stay there for maybe a year or two. Three at the most. I was eager to do well and devoted my energy to doing excellent work, but I did not set out to stay at the same company for so long.

Maybe you found yourself in a respectable job that you wanted to keep for as long as possible as well. Certainly, the pandemic has caused a lot of us to reevaluate our careers, whether due to job loss or the additional time to self-reflect during quarantine. I hope my experience helps encourage you to continue your education.

Twenty years ago, my real goal was to both work full time and go to school full time. I was working towards a Business Management degree and had in my mind that I would finish school — paid for using the company’s tuition reimbursement benefit, of course — and stick around for a little while before finding a better job.

As can happen, life got in the way. Starting a family brought its own unique challenges. Balancing work and life became increasingly difficult as mental illness crept in. Back then, what mental health benefits there were, were not that great. I stopped attending school.

Years later, I felt like I was getting a handle on things, received what I thought was a good promotion at work, and decided to start up again. School went great; I enjoyed the classes and was learning a lot. But again, life got in the way. The new position at work entailed working the late shift from 10:00 pm to 6:30 am.

I learned an amazing amount during my two years working overnight. I am glad I did it. It helped shape me into the person I am now. But, if I had a do over, I am not sure I would do that again. The challenge to my body's circadian rhythm was too much, and my illness flared up. Not to mention, the company was expected to have layoffs because of the economic crisis, and that significantly added to my stress.

I decided to step down to a position with less responsibility and stopped attending classes. Start and stop turned into a regular occurrence. Over time, I eventually earned an associate degree. But there were several pauses. Many people work through their degree plan in the suggested two or four years, I just happened to be on the delayed plan. Perhaps you are currently on the delayed plan too.

As a runner, I’ve learned that a mile is a mile, regardless of how long it takes to run. Few resumes highlight how quickly someone obtained a degree. In fact, the speed at which someone obtains a degree is often irrelevant. We are not all Doogie Howser, MD!

Many people get their degree, figure they are done, and stop learning. If you are in that situation, perhaps ask yourself if there is something else you want to learn, and go for it. There is always something else you can do to learn and develop yourself.

As I have had more time to reflect this year, I have come to realize that learning is an awesome lifelong journey, one that I hope to stay on for a long time to come. I have become proud of my journey. I have had the privilege of graduating from the school of hard knocks, just like you. But I am not finished and I hope you are not either. Next up for me is a bachelor’s degree. I am changing things up by switching majors to Behavioral Science. I don’t know where exactly that will lead, and I am comfortable with that.

I am starting school, again, this January. I am looking forward to getting my textbooks and signing on to my first class in the virtual classroom. I believe you can too. It is never too late. I’m excited for my, and your, journeys to continue.

--

--