Self | Personal Growth

If You Want to Make Your Dreams Come True, Don’t Worry About the Outcome

How to *realistically* chase your dreams against all odds.

Annisa RT
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
7 min readJun 14, 2021

--

We’ve heard the cliches:

“Dreams don’t work unless you take action.”

“The surest way to make your dreams come true is to live them.”

“Don’t let your dreams be dreams.”

These are all words of wisdom. But all the pondering about dreams, goals, and happiness in general often leads me to one big question: Why?

I’m genuinely asking, why does it matter? Why should I chase my dreams? What if I don’t want to?

After a series of deep contemplations, I’ve figured out the answer is: I shouldn’t. Neither should you. Nobody should.

“Should” is an active form of self-criticism. It can be a healthy way to increase self-awareness, but using the word “should” implicitly suggests that we don’t accept who or where we are.

We all have our own reasons to do something — our values, goals, principles, beliefs, and unique experiences in life.

Therefore, since pursuing our dreams is not a “should”, we can shift our mindset to focus on accepting and actually…

--

--

Annisa RT
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Writer. A curious soul striving for personal growth. Writes on Mental Health, Self, Psychology, Writing & Marketing | More insight: bit.ly/thecuriositymagnet