I’ve [Just] Got a Hate Mail From My Gen Z Princess for Denying Her Sick Leave. Wow.

She canceled me. And I canceled her.

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

A guy working with his laptop.
Shockbombs. Photo by Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

I sound inhuman, I know.

And you are judging me, I know.

I get that. Like, really. Inhuman practices evoke social justice and give birth to righteous movements. You have every right to curse me and pee on this article.

Of course.

But that said…

Here’s the thing.

Circumstances differ. I am not against taking sick leave. If you have a cold, please see a doctor and stay home. Work from home if you wish, but stay home.

I am not against you nursing yourself back to health.

The curious case of a sickly 27-year-old

Now, now.

Before you ding me.

We are in August. Isabelle emailed me on Thursday, requesting approval for [additional] sick leave on Thursday and Friday.

I saw that email on my business mobile while commuting to a client’s office.

I didn’t give it much thought.

I typed the following.

--

--

Aldric Chen
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.