Life story

Keeping a Journal for 1000 Days Transformed Me

I did so much more than I thought

Guillaume Dubé
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Author image

I began writing a journal on my 22nd birthday, and it was the best gift I could ever give myself. It started as a one-year challenge with my first entry posing the question:

“One year. Will you be able to?

I’m still wondering about the motivation behind my desire to write a diary. Is it my Montreal hipster side getting the better of me? Is it a challenge to prove to myself that I’m not capable of considering a long-term commitment? Do the cognitive and emotional benefits outweigh the time and time and discipline that a daily journal requires?”

Many questions still linger without answers, but one thing is clear: journaling makes me feel good. I cherish taking a moment to step back from living my life to type out what I did and how I felt in recent days. Looking through all the entries I’ve taken helps remind me of everything I’ve accomplished.

Motivation to write isn’t always there, but I’ve made it an obligation. Every day has at least one interesting moment worth noting. Good habits like this are developed not only through interest and passion but also through discipline. I could easily skip a day, but I know I’m better off writing something, even if it’s just a recap of my day. At least I did something I can be proud of and that benefits my mental health.

This exercise made me realize that I harbored a fear of not doing enough. I was — and still am — constantly questioning my productivity and being hard on myself regarding my achievements.

I want to do more.

Life is short, and I believe every waking second must be productive. Through writing about my days, I’ve learned that to accomplish much, I need to enjoy what I do. To enjoy it, I need to take my time and ease up on myself.

As a full-time master’s student who works part-time at a suicide hotline and at a non-governmental organization promoting alcohol moderation, I’m juggling a lot. I also aim to write two to three stories on this platform, read as many books as I can, and more.

I must admit, my drive to be productive is a double-edged sword. I’m proud of everything I’ve accomplished, yet a part of my brain always tells me;

Jeez, Louise, relax man! You’ve done so much recently, take a breath.

Writing in my journal is me taking that breath. I’ve found that meaningful moments to step back are often more refreshing than weeks of vacation. Incorporating pauses and reflective moments into my daily routine proves far more restorative than spending days at the beach, sipping drinks.

Let’s be honest: we’re not truly rested after a week of partying on the beach. More often than not, we return more exhausted.

For me, journaling and meditation have become the best mental health aid kit. These practices don’t take up much time, but they are truly meaningful. I engage in these activities with all my heart, finding that they help me savor life like never before.

Photo by Mitchell Griest on Unsplash

Sharing the Practice

I often suggest this exercise to patients that I care for in the shelter where I work. There’s nothing like writing words on paper; I find it makes everything more concrete. You can see the evolution of your well-being, and I find this very satisfying. It’s a tangible way to track progress and reflect on personal growth.

When people are fully committed to writing, I haven’t met anyone who has told me it was not helpful. Sometimes, people find this exercise childish. Whenever this happens, I always mention that the most childish book I know, The Little Prince, was the most impactful in my life. I’m definitely not alone in this sentiment.

Journaling doesn’t solve everything, but it certainly helps people become aware of how they feel. This awareness is crucial; when people are kinder to themselves, the world becomes a better place. It’s about understanding our emotions, acknowledging our struggles, and giving ourselves permission to breathe and grow.

Notion

I use a well know application called Notion to write my diary. Each days are a new entry in a database. For each days, I mentioned the people that I spoke to, the drugs I took (mainly coffee and alcohol), how long did I slept, what sport I did, the book I've read, the movies I've watch.

I also have a special checkbox to qualify the day as a Coup de cœur. Those days are very rare, but I like to identify days that were beyond enjoyable.

The most important feature of my journal is that I add a picture. Everyday, I must take at least one picture for my journal. It helps me be fully conscious of what I do and often take a step back.

If you would like a story on a more detail explanation on how I set up my notion, let me know!

About me

Thank you for reading and commenting!

I’m a master’s student in epidemiology at the Université de Montréal and a part-time counselor at a suicide hotline. My research focuses on suicide, mental health, and cannabis.

Here’s another of my story:

--

--

Guillaume Dubé
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

3x Boosted! French Canadian, Epidemiology and public health student, Suicide hotline crisis worker.