Living Comfortably Inside Your Skin

Guillermo Vidal
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
5 min readDec 23, 2019

--

by Guillermo Vidal | Dec 9, 2019 | Spiritual Development

Life is a journey we take alone. This is not a complaint; it is a fact. There is no one else in there with you, so you might as well work to be comfortable while your finite body houses your spirit. The great news is that you are in command and you can choose any direction you want.

This is doable but difficult

Living according to what others wanted was the way I learned to cope with the environment, experiences and people that were part of my life. This caused me to subjugate my true feelings and beliefs if they conflicted with those of the people I wanted to please. I often ignored my boundaries to get the support or agreement from another. This was particularly prevalent in my romantic relationships where I believed that I needed to blur my boundaries to gain the love my partner required of me.

Over the years, this appeared to work, but that was an illusion. A house is doomed to collapse if we build it on a foundation of sand. This will happen no matter how sturdy its walls. Unknowingly, I built my beliefs on a similarly flimsy foundation. When this life collapsed a handful of years ago, I felt disoriented, for I believed I had been doing the right thing.

--

--

Guillermo Vidal
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Author/Mentor/Septuagenerian. Showing you how to age better to create your best life. Follow me on YouTube@agingfearlessly-gvidal2917 and www.guillermovidal.me.