My Computer Crashed, But I Didn’t: How Mindfulness Saved My Day

The answer is so simple, yet so powerful.

David Gerken
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

The other morning I was sitting at my desk going through my usual, pre-writing (aka procrastination) ritual. This consists of, usually in this order: Wordle, Word Cookies, accuweather.com, ESPN.com, answer Medium responses, LSU football news sites, Washington Post.com and Politico.com. [With all that, it’s a miracle I ever write anything. But that’s for another story, another day.]

Anyway, I get up, go to the bathroom. Wash my hands. Then come back to my desk. We’re talking two minutes max.

Computer snooze

I look at my computer. It’s dark. No problem. It’s just sleeping. I hit a few keys to wake the sucker up…Nothing.

But even that’s not a big deal because that happens too now and then. So I press down the power button. And hold. And hold. And nothing. Hmm. That’s never happened.

So I go to my old pal Google and type in ‘Macbook Pro completely unresponsive.’ I try their fixes. Nothing.

Off to see the Wizard

Unfortunately, that meant it was time to goooooo… “Off to see the Wizard, the Wonderful Wizard of Apple. Because, because, because, because, becauuuuuuse…because I don’t know shit and they…

--

--

David Gerken
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Meditation and Mindfulness teacher. Dad of three precious kids. Former writer for THE WEST WING. Follow me at davidgerken.net.