My Life Is Finally Coming Together

Patience pays off

Aiden Riley
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Image by 愚木混株 Cdd20 from Pixabay

Finally, that is the word that comes to mind. Years and years of waiting. Years and years of a growing inner void. I am what I am, and there is no doubt of that. I haven’t succeeded in aspects of such fields that scream prosperity.

None of this has occurred yet.

I know we all go at our own speed. Although, that doesn’t aid the feeling of defeat. My life has been a slow process: I have wandered paths I thought were going to lead somewhere. In the end, nothing was there.

Simply an old lecturer gesturing to stop, and go another way. His finger pointed to the horizon; leaving my mind to wonder if I’ll ever find my field.

Since my 30s started, two words repeatedly appeared: wasted time. Like a grater, the two words have continuously ground my spirit. Yes, I am finally “closing the gap”. At long last, my growth is expanding.

Nonetheless, I grieve what could’ve been. Feeling like a failure in life cuts deep in people like myself. Life, although not a racetrack, we struggle to see otherwise. If life was a court of failure or success, I am sure we’d all appear before the judge.

There is always something we wish we could’ve done. Whether it’s avoiding certain events or revealing a feeling to an individual. For me…

--

--

Aiden Riley
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I deliver my opinions on society, culture, psychology, philosophy, mental health and more. I also write poetry.