My New Year’s Eve Tradition That Will Change Your Life

Start 2023 off right with this one hack!

Brandy Eaton
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
2 min readDec 28, 2022

--

Photo by Aakash Dhage on Unsplash

New Year’s Eve: The last day of the year where every culture celebrates differently, in their own special way. And for the families that celebrate Christmas either take down their Christmas lights until the next year or they keep them up going into January.

Growing up, my mom followed all the superstition rules for each holiday, and still does. The 1st day of each month, she has to say “rabbit, rabbit” before putting her feet on the ground or else she believes she will have bad luck all month. She doesn’t wear white after labor day, and don’t get me started with watching sports. Which now thinking about it, I see where I got my superstitious tendencies!

Out of all superstitions she follows, I have adopted one and I can’t ring in the New Year any other way. The days leading up to New Year’s Day but after Christmas, she takes down everything Christmas related and puts it away and deep cleans the house. Every nook and cranny, every article of clothing, anything and everything that contains dust, including cleaning the carpet.

As a child I was so upset to see everything get stored away after Christmas and often begged her to keep it up. She explained, the New Year is meant for a fresh-new-start. She believes if you bring in the “bad ju-ju” (dirty clothes, dirty car, dirty dishes) you are bringing the bad luck you had the year before into the new fresh year. As I grew older, I realized how truly insightful that is.

I have done this every year in my own place! As much as I would love to keep my Christmas decorations up well into January, nothing feels better than waking up with a clean slate and a clean house! Let me know if you have any New Year’s Eve traditions and if you give this a try!

Wishing each and every one of you a happy, healthy and *clean* New Year!

--

--

Brandy Eaton
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Jesus above all else. Just an Athletic Trainer/ Fitness Instructor trying to write from home with my cats.