Out-of-Body Experience Through Meditation

And how it’s different to the one induced through drugs.

Anya Leela
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

I have been meditating every day for more than a year. Without a fail everyday I come to my meditation pillow.

Some days I am more eager, some days I don’t feel like it at all. Some days I am in a rush, some days I have plenty of time and go beyond my usual 30 minutes. Some days I feel really connected, at other times I am quite anxious.

But it doesn’t matter, I am committed.

Meditation hasn’t failed me either. There wasn’t yet a time when I meditated and felt like I shouldn’t have. I always feel calmer and more focused afterwards.

I have experimented with all kinds of meditation — guided, mantra, mindfulness, silent, transcendental, mirror meditation, visual, inner child. Whatever one there is, you name it, I’ve tried it.

Eventually I figured out which ones work best for me and got pretty good at recognizing which one I need on which day, so sometimes I switch them up.

Yesterday morning something profound happened. I woke up and felt like I needed to be with myself. I made breakfast, had a shower and climbed on my meditation pillow. Yet this time I didn’t pick up my phone, look at the time, choose a meditation routine for today…

--

--

Anya Leela
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Yoga Teacher. Background in Sociocultural Anthropology. Trying to find answers to an ultimate question “Why do we do things that we do?” | Know Why Publication