Playing Not to Lose Is Different Than Playing To Win

Safe but boring

Lakeshia Felton
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by BeQa shavidze on Unsplash

I could never do that

From a distance, I watched risk-takers with admiration and envy. People who were not afraid to bet it all. The type of people who have never met a stranger and are comfortable in any setting.

Live Out Loud people change careers, partners, and homes frequently.

No looking back. No regrets.

Practical lifestyle

I dodged risks by sticking with what I knew.

The older I got, the more attached I became. I stayed in jobs that I didn’t like. I remained in dead-end relationships for far too long.

I was devoted to familiar things, even if they were suffocating me.

Detachment

After my separation, I searched online for a shortcut or hack to get over someone quickly.

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure

I didn’t know how to let go.

We hardly ever threw anything out when I was younger.

When the old TV stopped working, we placed the new TV on top of it. Worn-out chairs were reupholstered.

--

--