Post-Partum Depression Doesn’t Mean You Are A Bad Mom

Tina Viju
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
9 min readOct 31, 2018

--

There was a time in the past when all I hoped for were 2 red lines showing up in a small glass window. As small as they were, those 2 lines held power in my eyes.

Their presence symbolized a realization of dreams greedily awaited. Their absence -a painful reminder that I would yet remain a lonely outsider trying to scale that insurmountable border wall, beyond which lay ‘Mommy Land.’

A few years later, after quite a bumpy roller coaster ride, I finally saw those 2 elusive red lines staring back at me! We had gone through so much and were finally going to cross the finish line.

Now everything would be okay, right?

Sorry, not yet!

Welcome to the FOURTH TRIMESTER.

I had started a high fever from Chorioamnionitis the day of my delivery, which lasted 10 days.

Having gone through an Episiotomy, C-section and then a body breaking flu to top it all, I felt like I had gone to war and returned all broken and hollow with nothing to give.

--

--