Why We Need to Be Aware of Productivity Addiction

It’s time we understand that dangerous addictions go beyond drugs, gambling and alcohol.

Cassie McBlane
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Woman looks at her laptop in bed.
Photo by Victoria Heath on Unsplash

Addicted to scrolling on our devices; obsessed with diets that don’t have us feeling any better; in love with the rush that coffee gives us when we’re flat.

No matter the type of connection we have with habitual things in our lives, plenty of them are those we’ll never kick — partly because we don’t want to, but mostly because we can’t; we’re addicted.

Welcome to the Addiction Culture

Coinciding with cancel culture, the P.C epidemic, and moral revolution, there’s potentially never been a time where our reliance on so many things has been so potent. We’re now unable to live without technology; unable to spend 10 minutes without checking in on our devices; unable to feel some kind of symptom without self-diagnosing on Google.

With all this obsession comes something else, though. Busy minds like myself are now unable to sit still. I’m obsessed with doing. I can’t relax and it’s a problem.

I recently went on a short trip away with my partner, where the aim was for me to go completely off-grid. I absolutely struggled. I’m more wired into technology than I thought.

--

--