Do Self-Help Books Do More Harm Than Good?

Reminding myself I am more than my productivity

Olivia Rojas
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Mario Dobelmann on Unsplash

My opinion on self-help books has changed radically throughout my life. As a high schooler, I devoured books like How to Win Friend and Influence People by Dale Carnegie, Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill, and countless others. I was convinced these books held the secret to a successful life.

Reading inspirational words helped me develop a positive mindset and motivate me to be the best version of myself. In high school, the stakes were lower. I was focused on my grades and getting into a good college, and while these seemed monumental goals at the time, they have proven relatively insignificant.

During my college years and as a working adult, I realized that many of these books worsened my mental health and made me feel lazy or unproductive when I had an off day. As someone who has struggled with depression and anxiety my entire life, missing a single dose of my medication or experiencing a triggering event can send me spiraling into a hole of self hated. During these days, sleep is my only solace, and I can spend hours in bed, relishing the pressure of my weighted blanket on my body while at the same time repeating over and over in my head that I am a lazy piece of shit.

--

--