Sometimes, Losing a Simple Game Can Teach You an Important Lesson

You should be glad and learn from it.

Parameshwar Hegde
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Me playing in Table Tennis tournament
Me (In white T-shirt) playing in the Tournament in Philadelphia (Image by the author)

It is hard to feel good when you lose anything. Even a simple game. But it can be a blessing in disguise.

That’s what I learned from a simple table tennis game I took part in. It was a small tournament, organized by local clubs, with participants from in and around Philadelphia. Little did I expect to learn an important lesson on that day.

It was a Sunday morning. I reached the venue by 9 am and enrolled myself. The tournament had players of different skill levels. So after the initial enrollment, the tournament organizers divided the players into 5 distinct groups. Each such group had players of similar ranking to make the competition interesting. 1st group had top players, 5th group had beginners. I was in the 4th group, a little above the beginner group.

I was sad when they announced it. I was expecting to be in a higher group. I had been practicing in a local club every Tuesday evening for more than a year. I thought I was a better player than that. Anyway, I was confident of cruising.

I aced the initial games

The tournament started at around 10.30 am. It was 11 points per game. 5 set match. The player had to win 3 out of the…

--

--

Parameshwar Hegde
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Senior Leader in Corporate IT in his early 40’s. Curious Observer at work and life. Sharing learning and experiences through interesting stories.