The Acceptance of Unpredictability

Giving In To Our Complete Lack of Control Over the Universe

Jonathan Greene
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Pasha Chusovitin on Unsplash

Life is a perplexing labyrinth. We hope for things. We develop expectations. But the universe has a way of never doing exactly as we wish. And if it does, it won’t happen again.

Because the universe isn’t just your universe. It’s our universe. And every action each of us takes on any given day influences something else that will happen.

The route you take to work one day could save someone’s life. You will never know. Because by changing routes, there was one less car at the intersection of Williams and Emory when the accident happened. And one more car would have pushed the four-car pileup onto the sidewalk. Where those people were.

But what if they decided to go somewhere else that morning? Who else would be there instead? Life is anything but predictable. And until we accept the inherent unpredictability that every second entails, we are not accepting of life. We are hiding from it.

The Lure of Predictability

Being predictable is nice. At least it is for me. I like knowing that I am going to like a certain meal. I like knowing my schedule. I like that people know what they can expect from me. I also like to outdo that expectation.

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com