The Great Wave of Synchronicity

Learning the language of the cosmos is like learning to swim

Ricky Derisz
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Hokusai’s The Great Wave off Kanagawa [Creative Commons License]

Wave. /weɪv/. Noun: 1. a long body of water curling into an arched form and breaking on the shore.

August 2020. I tilt my birthday card back and forth. Waves, formidable and frozen behind plastic, shift, ever-so-slightly. They’re foreboding and grandiose, captured at their peak, foam overlapping seabed before the inevitable crash.

I’m not sure if I’m mesmerized by the image, simultaneously familiar and new, or the lenticular effect. Or both.

On the back of the card is a handwritten note. Ever-thoughtful and imbued by her effortless poetry, Sanya refers to a metaphor from Joseph Campbell: “The psychotic drowns in the same waters which the mystic swims in delight.”

I see you, teaching yourself to swim in ‘the’ waters, she writes. You swim in calm waters, unsteady waters, and even through storms.

I put the card away in the drawer of memories-to-return-to-at-some-point, and the waves settle into the seabed of my unconscious mind.

Two Weeks Later: The Second Wave

While browsing YouTube, a thumbnail catches my attention. Spiritual teacher Aaron Doughty holds a postcard with the same image. The…

--

--

Ricky Derisz
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Author. Podcast host. Creator of MindThatEgo.com. Free copy of my book Mindsets for Mindfulness 👉 https://bit.ly/2MnBlHp. It’s a bribe, but worth it.