PSYCHOLOGY

The Trickster Can Be a Useful Archetype Over Latte at Work

How to Use Personality Archetypes

Desiree Driesenaar
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Many personalities in one woman — picture Bee Wild in Night Cafe.

It’s busy at the coffee machine. My colleagues, mostly men, are having their break, talking Formula 1 and soccer. Making slightly sexist jokes, looking my way as if to see how I will react.

They like me and respect me. And I like working among men. Although sometimes, I feel like the odd one out. Today, my colleague M. is revengeful because I made a snippy remark in the group earlier. Not allowing him to take credit for my work.

I know they will call me “sensitive” if I would say something to their sexist remarks. But I can’t let it go either.

So, I use the trickster in me.

The Trickster is an archetype from psychologist Carl Gustav Jung who has many faces. This personality type is making cracks in people’s thick skulls so new light can come in. The Trickster is saying and doing the unexpected.

A master of magical power and comedian of opposites.

The Trickster loves paradoxes.

Women Speak Men Fluently

My colleague M. is talking to P.

--

--