The Wisdom Hidden in Indiana Jones’ Search for the Holy Grail

Guillermo Vidal
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
5 min readMar 12, 2019

--

by Guillermo Vidal | Mar 11, 2019 | Life, Life Lessons, Self Fulfillment, Spirituality, Uncategorized

Of all the great Indiana Jones movies made, my favorite one is Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. The plot has Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) racing to rescue his father, Doctor Henry Jones (Sean Connery) from the Nazis to find the Holy Grail, the cup Christ used during the Last Supper.

Using the magic of Netflix, I summoned the movie to replay it for my enjoyment. I gathered my bowl of popcorn and a can of Diet Pepsi and sat down to watch this rerun.

Even though I have seen this movie at least twenty times (Ok, Ok, maybe a hundred times), I am always surprised to find new connections to life. This time, I was inspired by the three trials the Jones boys had to take when they reached the Temple of Al Khaznehin Petra, Jordan. The scene is as follows, the Nazis arrived at the temple first and were able capture the Jones clan. Having lost several of their men attempting the first trial Papa Jones had outlined in the Grail Diary he had kept, the leader of the Nazis fatally shoots the senior Jones to coerce Indiana into risking his life trying the challenges. The only chance for Papa Jones to live was for Indiana to get Christ’s chalice, pour its holy water onto his father’s wound and hope for a…

--

--

Guillermo Vidal
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Author/Mentor/Septuagenerian. Showing you how to age better to create your best life. Follow me on YouTube@agingfearlessly-gvidal2917 and www.guillermovidal.me.