This Is How Reminding Your Underdog Stories Can Help You

You definitely have some.

Parameshwar Hegde
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

I was serving in a table tennis competition, with all my focus on the game.

The score was 15–20, a match point for the other team. It was 21 points game. I could not make even a single mistake otherwise, the game is lost. It was a doubles match.

I gathered all the focus I could. I gave my best shot in serving. We won the 1st point, then the second, then the third. The crowd started cheering up, clapping, shouting in awe, and it was an atmosphere to watch. It was all happening with so much energy.

When the game started, no one expected us to see such a fight. It was given that the other team would win. It was a doubles match and we were average players.

The crowd went crazy. They were already on their toes. When we hit 19–20 just one point away from equalling, it was all nerves. I had to regain composure from that excitement to not make any mistake.

Each point was crucial. We finally hit 20–20. We came back in the game. Then an advantage in our favor and finally we won the point and the match.

Coming from 15 to 20 down, saving the match, and winning 7 points straight in a row — it was quite unbelievable for me.

--

--

Parameshwar Hegde
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Senior Leader in Corporate IT in his early 40’s. Curious Observer at work and life. Sharing learning and experiences through interesting stories.