This Simple French Word Will Make You Value Your Talent More

It cuts through all the noise

J.R. Flaherty
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Aviv Cohen on Unsplash

“So what’s really going on with you?” Paul asked, as we sat under heaters in a cafe across from the Place de la Republique.

I hadn’t heard from him in eight years. Why would he have shown up now, just when I had sequestered myself away in an apartment in Paris for a while?

I looked at him, at the intense way he leaned across the zinc table.

“You want the whole story right now, don’t you?”

“Absolutely”, he said.

“Well, to be honest, I need to take some time for myself. I’ve been working hard. Traveling a lot for work. After one work trip, I just decided to stop here. I’m thinking about a change of direction.”

“I remember you talking about moving here years ago.”
“Well, the problem a few years ago is income. The company didn’t like you to work from home. Now I can work from here. If that’s what I want to do.”

He nodded and slurped out the liquor from a clam shell, “So is that what you are going to do next?”

“I don’t know yet. I’d like to do something different.”
He gave me a mock stern look and then did a comical slurp of spaghetti.

--

--