Through 8 Years of Minimalism, I Created a Meaningful Life

I synthesized insights from simplicity experts and personal experience.

Alice Crady
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

A woman does a challenging inverted yogi pose in a simple white hallway outdoors. The sun shines through several doorway openings on the left.
Photo Credit: Unsplash, Oksana Taran

I distinctly remember the moment I sat with “The 80/20 Principle” book by Richard Koch at a cafe, and it dawned on me just how many areas of my life could be redesigned, simplified. I don’t have to make space for the people or things I “sort of like.” I get to be really picky and purposeful about everything.

Eight years ago, I discovered minimalism. Bit by bit, being intentional has shifted my closet, fitness, living space, finances, hobbies, relationships, career choices, and spirituality for the better.

Creating a meaningful life means I’ve chosen and taken control of all the things I can. Rather than let consumer messaging drive my decision-making, I slowed down. I’ve been thoughtful about the items, experiences, and emotions I desire and shifted my lifestyle to empower me.

Like most people, I started with my closet and slowly moved outwards. Along the way, I discovered new layers of awareness. Mostly, I’ve learned that I will always be growing and needing to let go of things that no longer serve me.

Starting with clothes or other physical possessions gives you the framework to declutter anything. Minimalism is the ongoing

--

--

Alice Crady
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

🦋 I help friends increase holistic wellness through resources, stories, and insights. ❤️🕯 #Mental Health #Women #Relationships #Money #Self