Understanding Yourself

Froyle Davies
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
6 min readMar 6, 2020

--

It’s the first step to belonging.

Photo by Perry Grone on Unsplash

“Belonging starts with self-acceptance. Your level of belonging, in fact, can never be greater than your level of self-acceptance, because believing that you’re enough is what gives you the courage to be authentic, vulnerable and imperfect” Brené Brown

I never really believed that I was enough. I had been adopted as a child and even though my parents were great, I still felt I had been thrown away. I felt I had been disposed of and it seemed to me, that this feeling of rejection was instilled in utero. While I was being formed in my mother’s womb, I was unwanted and these feelings of rejection permeated my subconscious before I was even born. Well, that is my own theory anyway.

It wasn’t until I journeyed to find my birth parents that this sense of abandonment started to mend. The knowledge of my origin, heritage and culture, greatly affected my sense of self-worth. I have come to realise that understanding yourself is the first step to belonging and a sense of belonging has a direct effect on how we view ourselves and the world around us.

To Belong

--

--

Froyle Davies
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com