Use These 3 Simple Words To Improve Your Life

“You’re the best.”

Gary Buzzard
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Adobe Stock Image by benevolente

It’s been a rough couple of years. And I’m sure the last thing you want to hear is criticism and unsolicited advice.

My wife and I had a friend named Ruth; everyone called her Ruthie. She was one of the kindest, most supportive people I’ve ever known. I never heard her say an unkind word about anyone. She was always cheerful and helpful.

Tragically she died of complications from Alzheimer’s disease at 71. Her memorial celebration was huge, marked by admiring eulogies from her many friends and family. And every speaker mentioned the three simple words she always said to them.

“You’re the best.”

If Ruthie were a brand, her advertising tagline would be, “You’re the Best!” And it would be a brilliant campaign.

After all, when someone tells you “You’re the Best,” are you going to argue with them? I don’t think so. I didn’t see Ruthie often, but when I did, she always managed to fit in a “You’re the best.” It always warmed me, and I believed she meant it.

Ruthie was a school teacher and principal. I’m sure when she met with a student, she always told them, “You’re the best.” And I’m sure they craved hearing those words. Who wouldn’t. We all want recognition and validation, and…

--

--

Gary Buzzard
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I write two times a week on meditation, mindfulness, and aging gracefully—on accepting life, not fighting it. You may email me at gary@20-MinuteVacation.com.