Want to Unload Heaps of Emotional Baggage? Let Go of Grudges

It’s guaranteed to make you feel lighter and better.

David Gerken
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Calle Macarone on Unsplash

This is one of those articles that points out something obvious, that most people know, but that most people disregard. What is that obvious point?

Holding grudges does nobody any good, especially the grudge holder.

And yet, I’ll confess for all of us: Most of us hold grudges. Some more than others, but let’s face it, it’s pretty darn universal.

What I mean by grudges

Before delving further, I need to define what I mean by grudges. It’s harboring ill will toward someone who we feel has wronged us.

But I’m going to widen the net here by including those who haven’t necessarily wronged us, but who we just don’t like for some reason. For example, one of the moms at your kid’s school who you’ve spoken to only once, but who rubs you the wrong way. So every time you see her you say to yourself, “Ugh. What a Botox-infested phony.” And you don’t even know her!

So for the purposes of this article, let’s say that a grudge is harboring bad feelings about somebody.

Let’s go to the example bank to illustrate:

- “My wife/husband left me for another…

--

--

David Gerken
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Meditation and Mindfulness teacher. Dad of three precious kids. Former writer for THE WEST WING. Follow me at davidgerken.net.