What’s Your Favorite Color?

The color that changed our lives

Erkin Dudu
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
5 min readJul 19, 2023

--

I don’t know where to start but I would like to make a smooth introduction. It would be much easier, if I was making a homework about green habitat. I could start with basic and statistical information and Wrap it up by recent events in our world. But today’s topic is a little bit different than that.

When it is asked to me “what is your favorite color?” I was always replying the dark blue, when I was little. I am not sure if it is because the team that I was supporting but I stuck on that color for a long time. Even I was still liking that color as the time passes, I decided to choose a new one for “my favorite color”. I was in favor of Brown in my university years but still it wasn’t the best. I remember I spent so much time to find an answer for this.

It was very hard to feel something from a color, as same as what music make you feel. Although I was thinking that the visual things have an effect on people as audio things (maybe more than). Unfortunately, color pallets weren’t giving me any vibes.

I started to ask myself if I am a color blind or I lost my perception of colors. I finally met with pastel colors before it was too late. When I discover these colors are way better that shiny ones, I felt that I had to keep up with the times. I started to see something more than; blue represents work, yellow represents eating and red represents lust.. Dull colors might be the answer I was looking for. It was too hard to differentiate all colors; I am not even talking about hues. For me there are only light, dark and original colors. What I see that women can name more color tones than men. Even though I am not capable of doing this, it was an incredible experience to feel each hue in a different way. I think painters are feeling that way and I need to dig more.

It is already fascinating that unabsorbed colors after the photon part hits an object and is reflected in our eyes and seeing that object in that way. However, we should not be able to see these colors in the same way. It was almost impossible for those rays passing through the filter of different eyes to give the same color tone. However, I do not think there is any way to understand this. I think it’s as hard as telling a cat what the word “tomorrow” means. In this case, the color tone that we see should be exclusive to us. I could now choose my favorite among all the colors special to us. I didn’t have to try to be “unique” because everything I saw was also unique to me. While I thought it was a good start, I kept on going back and forth for a long time. Until, until he saw that tremendous piece of art.

What can a color make us feel?

Happiness? Serenity? Excitement? All at once? I still don’t have the answer. However, there is one color that I could look for the longest among all the colors I would like to look unconditionally. I think that if I am surrounded by this color, I may be the most peaceful and happiest person in the world. If you search this masterpiece “Dark Pastel Green” as the name I gave to google like this, we can come across dozens of different shades. That’s why I want to share the real name and introduce this masterpiece to you. Here you are 6161–83 aka Grand Manan Black.

When you look at it for a long time, you can see blue, brown, grey or black itself. It was the golden mixture of colors.

Tremendously magnificent, yet sincere. Of course, I was happy to come to the end of the brainstorming for many years, and even quickly turned my routine life and completely removed the colors from my head.

If I remember correctly, this is a color that fern has. It is that color that we come across among the nature photographs that we frequently see on social media, where the trees emerge through the fog. The color of the most important thing that gives us life when we think about it.

Why not green, but blue?

It is another topic to discuss, but this color is one of the reasons for the life we ​​know so far.

It’s the story of a few plant molecules millions of years ago that the first cells fed with solar rays to supply energy. As a result of the pure white starlight in the universe calling on these molecules, these molecules formed an organelle and caused the formation of ATP (adenosin-triphosphate), the base step of energy itself. Cells used ATP more actively and grew with the evolution of millions of years. Then they multiplied even more and created the first living things. ATP was the fuel of all the cellular activities that we can think of when the first creatures were able to move and eat.

Then trees have thus become the largest living indigenous community in the world. We have got this energy by eating plants that produce ATP and the creatures that eat these plants within the law of conservation of energy.

Today, if our hearts are beating, if we can think, feel, move or sleep, we owe everything to this color. As star dust, we look at trees in the same way as we look at the sun in a special way. Because although this green couldn’t tell us anything, it meant a lot to our atoms. So maybe that’s why we could feel more peaceful. Maybe that’s why this green color is the most comforting color for our eyes.

Therefore, this color that gave us life should have been one of the most loved colors. Although we do not care about the trees, which are the natives of the planet we live in, in our daily lives, it is sometimes necessary to take a look at the memories of the atoms in our nerve cells, where we perceive everything. Yes, they are a few million years old, but they still know the best.

When you look at a landscape or photo, try to look for this color. It is the summary of how we live, how we love, how we die.

--

--