When Joy Visits

Laura DeMaisBerg
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
4 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Photo by Laura Culberg (do not duplicate)

Last night joy visited my house. First it showed up while learning TikTok dances with my sixteen-year-old daughter Lucia. The absurdity of doing the dances invoked radical freedom and playfulness. A sense of letting go that comes only when all the players are aligned, when the moment is just right. Then it reappeared when my partner Nancy brought a New Yorker to the dinner table to get help understanding a cartoon. That led to all of us trying to come up with…

--

--

Laura DeMaisBerg
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I write about seemingly mundane experiences that are relatable because we are human. Subscribe on Substack to get my stories directly: lauramc.sub-stack.com