Why Is Change So Difficult?

The Age-Old Question Answered With Scientific Backing

--

Photograph by David Cassolato on Pexels

If change were easy, I wouldn’t be a writer and medium would have a sizably reduced personal development section. Change is hard; it requires awareness, commitment, courage, and often support in order to see through.

Hence why many people don’t change.

It’s easier to remain in the status quo, to do what we’ve always done, and to submit to the things we wish we could change if only it were as easy as flicking a light switch. Here it’s comfortable, and it’s familiar.

As someone who has undergone a lot of change, and is constantly evolving, I’ve learned a lot about the subject over the past 5 years. I’ve carried myself out of toxic cycles of OCD-induced anxiety, I’ve maneuvered bouts of depression, and I am working to make my ideals a reality.

With this in mind, I wanted to talk about why exactly change is so difficult for us humans including the neuroscience behind change and 3 reasons why habits are so hard to break.

The Neuroscience Of Change, And Why It’s Hard

Each time we change, our brains go through a process of neuroplasticity to accommodate that change. All your habits can be traced back to how your brain is structured —…

--

--

Joe Gibson, Above The Middle
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Your path to authentic love and secure relationships starts here. Above The Middle, a blog by me, Joe Gibson.