Why We Should Stop Telling Women To Be Flattered By The Attention Of Men

What I wish the younger me had known back then

Kele Mogotsi
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

“Enjoy it while it lasts. You’ll miss the attention when you’re old,” they said.

By ‘they’ I’m referring to women. Hundreds of well-meaning, kind women who’ve said I should feel grateful and flattered that boys and men were hitting on young, teenage me.

Into my 20’s the same advice was repeated to me.

“Oh, lucky you! When I was your age I got hit on all the time. To be young and beautiful! It doesn’t last y’know. Enjoy it while it does.”

Ugh.

It was drilled into me from a young age to see the attention of men, unwanted or otherwise, as a compliment. As if my self-esteem should feel a boost from their advances.

All my life I got this “advice” from adults, family members, and older friends, both men, and women.

When my friends and I would come home after a night out, we’d sit around with popcorn, dissecting which guys had approached us on the dance floor, as if it was a measuring stick for our attractiveness.

Essentially, the message that was being sent to me and other girls my age was that our desirability was measured by how many guys approach…

--

--

Kele Mogotsi
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

An introverted attention-seeker and chronic continent-hopper. Rhymes with jelly.